CCBGlogo-50 (24K)
CCBGheader (3K)
Formerly Abertillery & District Wheelers Established 1945
jennecca (11K)

New Years Day 10


While most sane people were tucked up in bed nursing hangovers, three intrepid members of the club were starting their racing season on the wet and windy R10/9 course at Boverton. The first event of the year, organised by Cardiff 100 miles RCC, saw a small field of tandems, 2 ups and solo riders tackle the rolling and exposed course by Aberthaw power station. Due to the wet road and the strong head wind on the return leg, the course record of 21:58 set by Ceri Pritchard, Condor Cycles on 8th July 1998 was in no danger of being beaten.

The fastest time of the day was set by the tandem pair of John Deeley, Ogmore Valley Wheelers & John Paul Lamb-Horth, Cardiff Byways with 24:42

Ross Phillips & Martin Latewood came second in the 2 up competition with 26:55, losing by a slender 20 seconds to Caroline Gay & Matthew Hargreaves, Ogmore Valley Wheelers.

Gareth Chislett's time of 30:18 saw him finish in the middle of the solo field. The fastest solo rider was Andy Hoskins, Ritchey/CycleOps with a 27:01